PayPal offers a lot of great services, but sometimes businesses and customers must part ways. If you’d like to know how to close your PayPal account, look no more – this guide will show you in 5 easy steps.
If you deleted your PayPal account and are looking for a great alternative, why not try Wise? With Wise, you can save up to 7x on fees when sending money abroad – and it takes just a few minutes to open a free account.
Before you close your PayPal account
The process of closing your account is easy, but there are some things to do before closing the account.
Copy your transaction history
Once you permanently delete the account, there’s no recovery process. It’s gone forever. You have the option to use the same or another email address to open different accounts, but all data from the original account is lost. It’s a good idea to make a copy of your transaction history to keep for your records.
Transfer your PayPal balance
If you’re closing your account, you probably don’t want PayPal to keep your balance. The next step is to transfer the money to either another PayPal account or transfer it to your bank account—you can also request a paper check for a $1.50 charge.¹ Another option is to spend it. You can make purchases online or donate it to any charity that accepts PayPal.
Pay off the account and/or resolve issues
On the other hand, if you have an outstanding balance on your account, PayPal won’t let you close it until it’s fully paid off. Also, if you have any pending payments or unresolved issues on the account, you won’t be able to close it. To resolve issues, you may need to contact customer service.
How to delete a PayPal account
Once you’ve completed the ‘before’ checklist, the closing process take just a few steps:
- Log in to your account.
- Open the ‘Settings’ menu by clicking the icon near ‘Log out’.
- Under ‘Account options’, click the ‘Close your account’ link.
- PayPal may require you to enter your bank account number – enter if required.
- Click the ‘Close account’ button.
How do I delete my PayPal account from the app?
PayPal does not allow customers to cancel their account from the application. You must login from their desktop platform and complete the steps above.
Wise: A PayPal alternative
Looking for a solid PayPal alternative? Wise is a great option! You can send money overseas with no currency mark-up fees. With Wise, everything is transparent. You pay the mid-market rate plus a small fee. That’s all! You can save up to 7x when sending money abroad.
How to close PayPal account: FAQs
Can I delete my PayPal account and start again?
Once you close the account, you cannot reopen it. However, it is possible to open an entirely new and completely separate account with the same email address.
What happens if I delete my PayPal account?
Again, all transaction history and data from the original account will be deleted, and you will not be able to recover or access it. Once it’s gone, it’s gone. You have the option to create a brand-new PayPal account with the same email address—as noted—but the previous account is wiped from existence.
How do I delete my PayPal account without logging in?
For security, it’s not possible to delete a PayPal account without logging in as it could be possible for anyone to delete the account without verification.